Does Size Matter?

Get your mind out of the gutter, I’m talking about height. 

At 5’8 I’m not the tallest gal out there, but slap on some heals and I’m 5’11 and towering over most people.  5’11 Doesn’t sound that tall, but trust me your dating pool greatly diminishes.  When I first started dating this was a big issue for me, but over the past few years I’ve thrown the requirement out the window.  I’ve dated men all shapes and sizes and I have enjoyed all of their company.  However, having had one serious boyfriend who was my height when I was barefoot made me realize maybe I’m not as comfortable with it as I’d like to be.  I was never completely ‘excited’ to be out with him, and it was always a dilemma when I was trying to put an outfit together that didn’t leave me towering over him.

I like feeling protected and surrounded by my man.  Old fashioned and silly, I know, but it really feels nice to have a big guy hugging you.  Fast forward to today and I have a dinner date with a man who’s shorter than I am.  I’m sure we would be equal heights barefoot, but I haven’t tested out that theory yet.  Shorty is fun, smart, and we shared a drunken make-out session on Halloween — but I’m still hung up on the height!!

Am I a terrible person for this?  For so long I’ve not let it be an issue and have dated men despite their height, but I feel like I’ve just been repressing my natural (un)attraction. 

“Love thy neighbor–and if he happens to be tall, debonair and devastating, it will be that much easier.” ~Mae West

3 Comments

  1. no, i totally hear you on this! it would be a little weird for me to date someone shorter than me, but that’s also because i’m pretty darn short!

    good luck with shorty 🙂

  2. Nice honest post. My mom was 6 feet tall and my dad was 5’7″, they were a pretty odd pair. I’m sure she would have liked to find someone taller, but nobody could compete with my dad’s wit, talent and good looks. He was the big love of her life. There is certainly nothing wrong with looking for what makes you feel the best in a partner, but keeping an open mind is key, I think. That said, I have dated guys my height (I’m 5’6″) and it never felt quite right. The man I fell for hard and married is 6″ tall. Lucky me. But generally I find that the really fun and funny ones tend to come in smaller packages. 😉

  3. Height…the bane of my life I sometimes think. Speaking as someone closer to the ground than others, I actually never noticed the difference much until I read a book called, The Height of Your Life by Ralph Keyes, 1980. He laid out the case that although height has nothing to do with intelligence, drive, thought or ability to lead others, the fact remains that taller people are favored in most societies as being superior.
    This premise holds true today if you look around you. In the way youth trumps age, taller folks are often more successful at many professions for no other reason than they are taller.
    They are prescribed traits that have nothing to do with reality if examined. The short person has their place in the world but the tall person is often awarded the true leadership position by virtue of their vertical superiority.

    It is an uphill battle. Being born tall is like being born good looking. Both are admired (unless TOO tall in which case you listen to moronic questions the rest of your life) and commented on yet neither has been the result of hard work or drive but more a secret DNA lottery that is fixed at time of conception. In other words, you cannot take credit for something you had nothing to do with, yet these traits continue to resonate in the heads of those so blessed as something GOOD that they did. Ummm…no.

    I take comfort in the fact that taller folks do not, on average, live as long as the short.Heart problems abound…something about all that work for the heart (which is I might point out, the same size as mine on average) to pump the blood all the extra way.

    Robert — 5’7″ and loving it.

    PS Good luck in the dating of the shorter man. At least you know he will be there for you long after the tall one passes on…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

